The Augsburg Rathaus
In August of 1615, the foundation was laid for the magnificent Augsburg Rathaus. A British bombing
raid on the night of  February 25-26, 1944 burned down the Renaissance gem, leaving only the
exterior walls. Reconstruction in keeping with historical documents began in 1955 and continued until
1984, although the interior was rebuilt in a much more simplified form, with the exception of its
famous Golden Seal hall which was restored in 1985. Only a few frescoes survived the bombings.
Above left: Augsburg Rathaus before and after British bombing. Right: Golden Seal hall, after
Augsburg: a Benign and Venerable City
Augsburg in 1944 (click)
Augsburg in 1494
click